RSS Feed

Confessions of a Rookie Father

Believe or not, I was a pretty good little league baseball player. If there was better 8 year-old fielding shortstop in West Wichita, circa 1986, I’d like to meet him…of course, history has a way of allowing us to remember things the way we want, no sense in getting caught up in facts. As I got older, I wouldn’t say my skills diminished as much as my body stopped growing, and the other kids got better…much better. My playing time decreased, rapidly, and I looked to find someone to blame.  In my case, it was easiest to blame my father.  In my mind, he had put pressure on me to perform…too much pressure.  So I did the unthinkable…I asked my father to stop attending my games.  He stopped showing up and my playing time continued to drop, until finally, I got cut from the team. Although my Dad wasn’t to blame for my benching’s, I was sure I wouldn’t put pressure on my kids when I became a father of my own.

*********************************************************************************

Four weeks shy of his sixth birthday, my oldest son, Henry was about to start in goal for the first time in a competitive soccer game. Turns out Henry acquired some of his ‘Ol Man’s hand eye coordination and has quickly showed a real gift for the little round ball.  This year, my wife and I decided to enroll Henry into a competitive league in our area, complete with yelling coaches, score being kept, and parents that really, really care. So it was, on this particular Saturday, that Henry found himself, between the pipes, with all of us parents looking on. As the whistle blew to signal the start of the game, I was overcome with a weird sensation. As the ball rocked and rolled around the field, bouncing like a pinball amongst the clump of boys, my heart began to race. For reasons I don’t entirely understand, I found myself beginning to yell…”BE READY, HENRY!”. He didn’t look ready…, but why is he looking at me now? “WATCH THE GAME, NOT ME!”…what’s he doing?…he’s not even looking at the ball…oh no the ball…it’s coming right at ’em…I was sure my  heart was going to explode.

As if it had been blown out of a cannon, the ball broke away from the pack and was now heading right towards my oldest.  There was Henry, like a deer frozen in a head light,  as the opposing forward approached and with one swift kick, as if in slow motion…the ball went right through Henry’s legs.

My first thought was, why are all these people screaming? Then I remembered…all those parents care. The crowd was simultaneously groaning and cheering. When, from the corner of my eye, she turned. She had been sitting there since before the game, making small talk with me…

“…where do you live? Oh really? My son goes to the same school, what teacher? Oh that’s great, us too.  Don’t you just love this soccer team?…”

As my ears continued to ring from the groaning cheers, my emotions began to lava over…she turned and muttered,  in the condescending voice only a mother can deliver…”It’s OK, I’m sure he’ll get the hang of it.”

My mind erupted with emotion:

“Get the hang of it? Get the hang of it? Do you know who the hell my son is! Ya, the one that scored the winning goal last week, the only one that can kick a forward ball with any real force! Is that your son sitting in the dirt, eating grass? Ya, thought so…Henry will “get the hang of it” as soon as your son “gets the hang of putting his shin guards on right!”

Luckily, that was my internal voice…

The external voice was saying something like “That’s OK, Henry. You’ll get’em next time.”

It wasn’t till later that my emotions for the game subsided enough for me to fully reflect. As I drove home, I was filled with questions, most notably, had I become my father? Was I becoming the very type of pressuring parenting I never intended to be? The feelings I had were real, but what was I feeling exactly? Why did I care, in the heat of that moment, so much about my son’s performance? My initial thought was something along the lines of “He has so much potential, and I just want to see him compete like he does in the backyard with his friends, after all, I’ve seen him stop those kind of shots in his sleep”…but that would be false parental rationalization on my part. The truth is, I want him to do well for me.  We, as parents, do sometimes live vicariously through our children, and if we are not careful, we can want for our children what we really want for ourselves.  It occurred to me that all I want for my kids is for them to be happy…and that happiness has nothing to do with soccer or sports.

As I pulled into my driveway, I began to realize that although I have three boys, I’m a rookie when it comes to my oldest.  Every new experience for him, is a new experience for me.  No matter how many diapers I’ve changed or boys I’ve potty-trained, I’ll never be fully prepared for Henry’s new experiences…and that will last his lifetime.  I shouldn’t be concerned that I felt that way for his first competitive game as goalie…only concerned if I don’t change my thought process.  Because like any good rookie, I must learn from mistakes, or risk being put on the bench by a son who thinks his father is to blame.

About gregdyounger

A Father of 3 in search of his DaddyBalance See more at https://gregdyounger.wordpress.com

4 responses »

  1. I have to say that’s one thing that drove me away from sports, granted it was later in high school, but I have seen the parents that have gotten to in to the game and ruined it for their kids. I was lucky enough that my dad always thought that the game should be more fun, and to hold my head up if I didn’t perform well. I hope that whatever it is my son Ricky decided to participate in, it’s something he wants to do and something I haven’t somehow talked him in to doing. I’m hoping like you that in his first game, or performance or whatever it is, I don’t become an overbearing dad who takes it more seriously then he does. You are so right that with your first, everything’s new and you are essentially a rookie. You obviously are a little more seasoned than I am, but it’s fun to see you going through some new “first times” that I hopefully will get to experience in her a matter of years. Good read 🙂

    Reply
  2. I only have one son and it took us a long time to have him. Before I do anything with him I try to remember what it was like to be that small. I remember the things my dad would do to me that I didn’t like and I strife to act differently. Competition can be a good thing for children but only up to a point. I am not living my son’s life…he is.

    My son is only 3-years-old and i want him to grow up happy, confident and full of hope. I want him to realize he isn’t going to win at everything no matter how hard he tries. Kids today get a false sense of security about the world because they believe they will always win. I am more of the mind set that victories would never be as good if we can’t lose sometimes.

    I am not saying that I won’t be there cheering him on in EVERYTHING he does because i will be there. I just want him to be happy in what he does and not be pressured by everyone else to do things he doesn’t want to do. Even at 3-years-old one of the big things in our house is he needs to at least try something before he makes up his mind (food is a great example of this) We don’t pressure him to do things but we want him to understand he might not have another opportunity.

    I think you did a great job and your boys are very lucky to have a dad in their corner that cares!

    Aaron

    Reply
    • Thanks, Aaron. I love your writing, by the way, looking forward to reading more. My wife and I do the same thing w/ food, gotta try it before you say “no”. And I agree that kids today get used to winning all the time. I guess some people figure there’s plenty of time to learn about losing later in life…I feel it’s better to be based in reality, more than anything. Thanks again for your thoughts and I’m sure we’ll connect again soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

