RSS Feed

So, do we have a deal?

Posted on

Everyone always says how having a new child changes your life.  My blogging buddy, Chris Bumeter (http://chrisbumeter.wordpress.com/), recently told me that he’s a new father and loves it.  When you read his blog and twitter accounts, you see the proof.

So what does having three kids feel like?  Let’s just say it makes you want to go out and do things you’d never thought in a million years you’d want to do…that’s right, it makes you want to buy a mini-van.

For the record, I’d rather try to take my contacts out with coal-fired tweezers than buy a used car.

So, just days before the birth of my 3rd child, where do I find myself? You guessed it, the Auto Dealership.

I’ve spent almost my entire adult life in sales, and yet, here I am, wrapped in the used car salesman’s web of lies, wishing I was home, staring into the mirror with those scorching tweezers.

I hate buying cars like my kids hate eating healthy, brushing teeth or listening to their mother.

I’m not entirely certain what I hate the most. It’s probably the feeling that no matter how much I research, how much “homework” I do, I always feel like the biggest sucker as I walk out the door. I’m certain my sales guy, Blake, and his manager will be high-fiving each other after selling me a car, while calling their wife’s to tell them that they had a great day and asking whether they would like them to bring home PF Chang’s tonight…

“We can afford it Honey, Daddy sold a big one tonight!”

I also hate the whole Good Cop, Bad Cop routine.

“I want to sell you this car, but my manager’s having a bad day and says he’s gonna lose big on this sale, so we’ll see what he says”…really?  Bad day?  That’s the best you could come up with?

I imagine he goes back to the manager’s office and a tape of Glengarry Glen Ross’s “Coffee’s for Closer’s” is playing on loop  http://www.hark.com/clips/rfvsbnczny-coffees-for-closers

How about all the waiting? If I kept my clients waiting like that they’d leave me in droves and I’d feel awful. And yet, there I am, sifting through October 2010 issues of Motor Trend, while sipping on day’s old coffee, looking for the damn remote to the tv in the waiting room. I guess that’s the fundamental issue with buying a car these days…the salesmen always seem to have us were it hurts. I feel like I should walk out…

But I won’t..

I just bought a mini-van….hope he enjoys the PF Chang’s tonight.

Have you bought a car recently?  Did you enjoy it?  What tips do you have for buying a car?

5 responses »

  1. I actually have a guy through my uncle who is an independent auto broker who finds cars for people. He is the nicest guy ever and even though I’m sure I pay a (small) premium, he got my Pontiac Vibe at the bottom of the blue book price and fixed anything wrong with it before I bought it.

    Three years later the only thing I have paid for is regular maintenance.

    Reply
  2. HA… We too recently bought a mini van and we are expecting baby #3 in March 2013. I have to totally agree with your post. I felt like we got a pretty good deal, but I still felt like they were high fiving each other knowing they got someone else. LOL

    Reply
  3. I have about 3 months left on my Chevy HHR and I’m waiting for it to just crap out the day I pay it off haha. My girlfriend has sworn many times she never wants to buy a minivan but i can guarantee you that will change with time. A joke about my car when I was up at college was that it looks like a soccer mom car, so I have that going for me. There are a lot of places where I go in to thinking that the person there has no real interest in any of my needs besides making a sale. They may even have some compassion, but still the thought in my head is, you’re just trying to sell me this. I’m hoping to hang on to my car for a while and it will hold another little guy/girl when the time comes, but if we move to 3 at some point, the minivan may be the next vehicle in line.

    Congrats by the way on the new little one. I do have to say having my first little boy has been amazing, but I’ve been over to visit my sister who just had their 3rd 2 months before we had ours, and it’s a crazy house. The oldest is 3 and it’s nuts, so I can only imagine.

    Let me finish by saying how cool it is you all are commenting on each other’s blogs, really makes this whole thing a lot more fun to do, and congrats to Brittany on the big news!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

